Linda Fredriksson: Juniper (CD)


New product

Linda Fredriksson: Juniper
WJCD40, We Jazz Records, Finland, 2021

More details

24,90 € Tax included

0.3 kg
Toimitus: 1-3 viikkoa

Add to wishlist

Maksutavat / Payment methods
Maksutavat / Payment methods

More info

Linda Fredriksson: Juniper
WJCD40, We Jazz Records, Finland, 2021

1 Neon Light [and the sky was trans] 5:28

2 Juniper 3:50

3 Nana – Tepalle 7:04

4 Pinetree Song 5:29

5 Transit in the Softest Forest, Walking, Sad, No More Sad, Leaving 5:11

6 Lempilauluni 4:34

7 Clea 5:56

Linda Fredriksson (they/them) shares their debut solo album "Juniper" on We Jazz Records, 29 Oct 2021. Linda (of Mopo and Superposition) has been working on the compositions heard on the album for several years, composing them mostly on guitar, keys and by singing. Only later have they been arranged for the band heard on the album, including Fredriksson on saxes and various instruments, Tuomo Prättälä (of ilmiliekki Quartet) on rhodes, moog and piano, Minna Koivisto on modular synth, moog and OP, Olavi Louhivuori (of Superposition) on drums, and Mikael Saastamoinen (of OK:KO and Superposition) on bass, plus featuring the Swedish artist Matti Bye on piano.

At heart, "Juniper" is a "singer-songwriter album", performed by an instrumental jazz band. The end result is unique, personal, and as Linda themself puts it "quiet and introspective". The first single from the album is "Neon Light [and the sky was trans]", "a song from the shining streets – the beginning of something new", featuring field recordings of rain falling down behind the window of Linda's Helsinki working space.

It's a fitting introdution to an album full on wonders and carefully crafted secrets ready to be discovered. "Juniper" is a... more

All songs composed by Linda Fredriksson

Linda Fredriksson alto saxophone, baritone saxophone, bass clarinet, guitar, piano, voice, rhythmic8 synth

Tuomo Prättälä rhodes, moog synthesizers, juno 106, prophet 8, piano

Olavi Louhivuori drums

Mikael Saastamoinen double bass & effects

Minna Koivisto modular synthesizer, moog, op-1

Matti Bye piano (on "Nana")

Joonas Saikkonen granulator (on "Pinetree song")


Joonas Saikkonen: band, sax and guitar recordings at Lammaskallion audio and E-studio.

Linda Fredriksson: sax, bassclarinet, guitar, voice, keys and field recordings at various houses, homes, cottages, working spaces and locations during 2019-2021.

Minna Koivisto: modular synth, keys, sax and field recordings at Vallila, autumn 2020

Tuomo Prättälä: keys recording at Sonic Pump, November 2020

Tari Doris: field recording at Töölö, August 2020

Matti Bye: piano recording at Barnängen studio, Stockholm, February 2021

Produced by Linda Fredriksson and Minna Koivisto

Executive producer Matti Nives

Mixed by Joonas Saikkonen

Arranged by Linda Fredriksson, Olavi Louhivuori, Tuomo Prättälä, Mikael Saastamoinen

Mastered by Jarno Alho

Illustration by Sanna Hellikki Turunen

Artist photos by Iiris Heikka

Design and plant scans by Matti Nives

Flower petals collected in Kumpula, Helsinki (only fallen petals used)

Artistic advisers and supporters along the way: Stina Koistinen and Kerkko Koskinen


No customer reviews for the moment.

Write a review

Linda Fredriksson: Juniper (CD)

Linda Fredriksson: Juniper (CD)

Linda Fredriksson: Juniper
WJCD40, We Jazz Records, Finland, 2021

30 other products in the same category: